İngilizce Okul Tanıtımı Marmara University


Özel Üye
Sponsorlu Bağlantılar
ingilizce marmara üniversitesi tanıtımı - ingilizce marmara üniversitesi hakkında bilgi - marmara üniversity

Marmara University (Turkish Marmara Üniversitesi) is a public university in Turkey. Situated in Istanbul, Marmara University has succeeded in becoming the second largest university in the whole country. The University's mission is to impart and promote knowledge and values consistent with universal standards, to meet the technological, social and cultural challenges of a global society, to contribute to the creation of an informed society, which learns about and shares this knowledge and values and to emphasize the European dimension in the delivery of educational opportunities. The present Rector (US:University President) of Marmara University is Prof. Dr. Necla Pur since July 2006.

Marmara University is an institution with roots extending back into the 19th century when the Hamidiye College of Higher Commercial Education was established in the Cağaloğlu district of Istanbul on January 16, 1883. At the time, it was the only leading higher education institution for studies in commerce and economics. From 1923 to 1959, the college was called the Higher Education School of Economics and Commerce and became the Istanbul Academy of Economic and Commercial Sciences in 1959. Marmara University was formally established in 1982, when the Istanbul Academy of Economic and Commercial Sciences was consolidated with several schools of higher education offering undergraduate-level study in medicine, dentistry, law, and fine arts. To these were added faculties of arts and sciences, education, and a school of foreign languages to provide a full complement of university courses.

Marmara University currently has 52,000 students, of whom 44,661 are undergraduate students and 7,406 graduate students. A total of 1,354 foreign students from 73 countries are currently studying at this institution. The proportion of female students constituted 43% of the total student population (in 2001) and is steadily increasing.

Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, Current Turkish Prime Minister from Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences.
Gerhard Schröder, Former German Chancellor was awarded an honorary doctorate by Marmara University at a special ceremony in Istanbul in May 2005.
Necdet Tekin, Academic, Member of the Turkish Parliament 1995–2002 and Minister of Education 2002 completed his Phd at Marmara University.
Aydin Dogan, Influential Turkish businessman and industrialist in 1998
Kemal Sunal, The much-loved Turkish actor known particularly for his role in film comedies, graduated with a masters' degree from the Television Studies Department of Marmara University's Institute of Social Sciences.
Ismail Acar, Noted Turkish artist
Yıldo, Famous showman, retired football player
Nehir Erdoğan, Actress
Haluk Kurosman music producer, GRGDN (Turkish record label)

Organizational Overview
Marmara University comprises 13 faculties, 9 vocational schools of higher education (generally providing 2-year associate bachelor degrees and 4-year Bachelors' in some cases), 11 graduate institutes and 31research centers. The University currently offers a total of 136 associate bachelor's and bachelor degree programmes. Marmara University also has a Center of Continuing Education offering 20 different certificate programmes in a variety of areas, including foreign languages, computer training and initial teacher training courses. Marmara University is unique among Turkish universities in that it is the only one that currently offers education at both undergraduate and post-graduate levels in four languages of instruction: Turkish, French, English and German.

Atatürk Faculty of Education
Faculty of Dentistry
Faculty of Pharmacy
Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Faculty of Fine Arts
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
Faculty of Divinity
Faculty of Communication
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Technical Education
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Health Education

Graduate Schools
Institute for Graduate Studies in Pure and Applied Sciences
European Community Institute, renamed as European Union Institute in 2007
Institute of Banking and Insurance
Institute of Educational Sciences
Institute of Gastroenterology Science
Institute of Fine Arts
Institute of Neurological Sciences
Institute of Medical Studies
Institute of Social Sciences
Institute of Turcology Research
Institute of Mid-Eastern Studies

Vocational Schools

Four-year Programs
School of Banking and Insurance
School of Physical Education and Sports
School of Nursing
İstanbul Zeynep Kamil Vocational School of Health Services
School of Foreign Languages

Two-Year Programs
Vocational School of Divinity
Vocational School of Health Related Professions
Vocational School of Social Studies
Vocational School of Technical Studies

International Profile
The University has always been proactive in forming and extending its international relations. To realize its international presence, Marmara University sees it as essential to forge links with other European universities and institutions outside the EU that will allow students and researchers to access a wide range of opportunities.
Many academic units within the University have been successful in developing student/lecturer exchanges within the framework of the Erasmus/Socrates programmes offered by the European Commission.
Within the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, the Department of Political Science and International Relations alone has developed Erasmus Agreements with the Centre for European Studies, Jagiellonian University,
Poland; Department of Political Science, Stockholm University,
Sweden; Faculty of Preservation of Cultural Heritage,
University of Bologna, Italy; Faculty of Political and Social Science,
University of Antwerp,
Belgium; Institute for Political Science,
University of Regensburg, Germany and the Institute for Political Science, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz,
Germany; College of Social Pedagogy,
Alice Salomon Vocational College Hannover, Germany.